Swinging at Sunset


Daniel and I were swinging on the swings in the backyard over the weekend.  It was close to being warm and it was the first time we have been able to use the swing set this year.  We had been going up and down, back and forth, for a few minutes when Daniel looked to the sky.

“That cloud looks like the St. Louis Rams!” he cried.  “There’s one that looks like a warthog!”

He pointed to one place then another.

“A dragon!”

“A lion!  It’s a female lion!”

We sat and swung until the sun went down.  Daniel looked and laughed and introduced me to a complicated sky full of wonderful visions.  I’m sorry to say I didn’t see a warthog or a lion, or even the St. Louis Rams, though I looked up and around until I was slightly dizzy.

But it didn’t matter… really.  It was enough to take a tour of the clouds with Daniel as my guide.

Leave a Reply

