Daniel’s Blog


Daniel’s class had to keep a journal in Kindergarten.  When we got it back at the end of the year, we thought it was exceedingly cute.  As a summer project to keep him interested in writing, I came up with some “journal pages” he could fill out.  At the bottom of each was a question or two to help his readers get some perspective on where he was coming from as a person.

While Daniel is pretty creative and he likes to draw and write, he has to be motivated to do so.  He’s noticed in the last month or two that I have been writing a lot more than I used to.  I explained that I was writing and putting it on the computer.  I added that if he could write something new every week, I would add it to the computer.  I guess he was excited by this; he sat down to write something and he used his better handwriting.  When he’s not motivated to write, the spelling becomes pretty bad and the handwriting looks like a two year old scrawl.

So, in keeping my promise, Daniel now has a blog page of his very own.  So far, there have been three journal entries about his day and four questions that he answered.  He also wrote a poem.  So, if you are inclined to read the voice of a new generation, take a look.

Leave a Reply

