Memos to Daniel


My son likes to write. I can’t imagine where he got that from.

He started out copying things he found in books or on television. He would get papers back in school with comments and he felt it was his duty to pass these along. I always enjoyed getting the bill for Dish Network with a neatly written “Good Job!” inside a homemade explosion. It took the sting out of paying it.

When we go out, I generally carry a pen with me. If things gets boring, I will write him a memo on a napkin or a scrap of paper.

To: Daniel
From: Dad

You are silly.

I pass this over to Daniel who reads it carefully (I wish my memos at work got read this carefully). Soon, his nose crinkles and his eyes squint up in mock anger. He asks for my pen and scribbles back a memo of his own.

To: Dad
From: Daniel

You are a very silly dad!!!

Sometimes in the memos, I ask him questions.

To: Daniel
From: Dad

What is your favorite football team?

To which I get a reply.

To: Dad
From: Daniel

Bears rule!!! Packers drule (sp)!!!

Other times I write these memos to give him a heads up.

To: Daniel
From: Dad

While you are reading this, I am eating your French fries.

My favorite memos have gone back and forth with Daniel and his “pets”, his stuffed animal entourage that accompanies him almost everywhere. I used to assign each pet a specific personality, but now Daniel does that himself. Still, I have no problem writing in character. Last week at McDonald’s, I started the memos going from Oscar, Daniel’s stuffed blue dog.

To: Daniel
From: Oscar

Woof.

Daniel looked up from reading the Happy Meal box and snorted. He asked for my pen and I got the following back.

To: Oscar
From: Daniel

What do you mean? I do not understand your accent!

I had Oscar borrow the pen and he replied.

To: Daniel
From: Oscar

How’s this? Bark.

Daniel laughed and grabbed the pen back.

To: Oscar
From: Daniel

I AM A PERSON! I DON’T KNOW HOW TO WOOF LIKE A DOG! WHAT DO YOU MEAN?

Oscar took the pen back and wrote out in his best handwriting.

To: Daniel
From: Oscar

I am a dog. I can’t read.
P.S.: Woof.

Daniel almost fell out of the booth laughing. I like being able to make Daniel laugh, but he got the last word in.

To: Oscar
From: Daniel

AAAAAAARRRRGGGGGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!!!

So, there we were, in the booth at McDonald’s, both laughing like loons while Oscar waited patiently for us to regain our composure.

2 comments

  1. Knowing you both, I really had to laugh at this story! I could picture you both writing silly things back and forth to each other and laughing!

Leave a Reply

