Weight Watchers Setback


I am – by nature – a cynical person. I was born during the Nixon Administration and history since then has been one cosmic betrayal after another. Meka and I take that “for better or for worse” part of the vow pretty seriously. If we can’t share a good experience together, at least we can laugh about it together when life slaps us upside the head.

The first time I went with Meka to Weight Watchers was almost my last. It was 2001 and I wanted to lose a couple of pounds. The instructor then wasn’t very good and Meka and I found ourselves getting more and more cynical about the whole thing. I think the final straw was when the instructor explained there were seven words for weight loss success. I whispered to Meka they were “shut your festering gob hole, you cow”.

Despite my cynical background, I have to admit that life hasn’t completely sucked. As I look back at some of the bad things that have happened in my life, I admit there is a silver lining in some of the clouds. Not all of them, mind you, but enough that I can see a glimmer of hope. I might even vote for Obama.

This round of Weight Watchers has been good for me. We have a good instructor and I find I actually leave the meetings inspired. I’m not the only one. The other reason I’m doing reasonably well is Meka has done extremely well since she restarted the plan last year.

I was disappointed to find that I had actually gained a pound last week when I went to the meeting. I knew that I had slipped once. I blame McDonald’s for giving away their Southern Style Chicken Sandwiches. I’m not good at resisting free… even at the cost of ten points a piece. However, I am also to blame. I didn’t exercise much more than mowing the lawn last week. This is a setback, the first one I’ve had since I started Weight Watchers.

I figure I have two basic options based on who I am. I can give it up and give in to my cynicism. It was too good to be true, definitely too good to last. And here I am at McDonald’s writing my blog entry for the evening.

On the other hand, I’ve felt good about what I’ve done at Weight Watchers. A few weeks ago I got a gold star for losing five pounds and – dang it! I wanted that star! My cynical self might have pointed out I could just go over to Wal Mart and pick up a whole globular cluster of stars. But I wanted to do it the old-fashioned way and earn it.

So, I’m sitting here at McDonald’s, writing my first draft of this blog entry, with the remnants of a garden salad and a Diet Coke on the tray in front of me. When I’m done, I think I’ll go home and do my f%$@ing sit-ups.

Leave a Reply

