All Alone by Myself


My wife has left me.  She took Daniel with her.  I can’t say I was sorry to see them go.  I even helped them get stuff for the trip.  They’re off to Michigan for a week to visit Grandma and Grandpa.  It will be fun for them to get away for a bit.  Meka will get to hike around her old house, wander through the tall trees that our neighborhood lacks.  She’ll be able to spend quality time with her mom who is an avid hiker.  Daniel and Grandpa may get a little fishing in during the trip; maybe a little golfing.  If the weather doesn’t pan out, they may spend time out in the garage which is filled with “toys” for both Grandpa and Daniel.

As for me, I have to stay here and work all week.  It’s not as bad as it sounds.  I look forward to a little separation.  I get to watch whatever I want on television.  No Sponge Bob Square Pants or Tom and Jerry… well, maybe just that one cartoon where the little white mouse is guaranteed not to explode (“don’t… you… believe it…”).  That one’s a classic.  I can eat what I want… well, 27 points’ worth of what I want.  I can sleep in on the weekend without worrying Daniel is outside playing in the street.  I plan to do some of the things I never get to do when I have a family to worry about.

This exhilarating feeling of freedom from familial responsibility usually gets me through the first day and a half or so.  After that, it gets a little boring.  Without a family to call me down, sometimes I end up working several hours more than I normally would.  While I do get to eat what I want, when I want.  That doesn’t make up for the lack of dinner conversation.  While I often make plans to get things done around the house, I find after a few days without anyone else around, I am completely demotivated to do much of anything. 

Here we are, less than 24 hours into it and I’m beginning to notice how eerily quiet the house is.  All I hear is the tick of the clock and the whirr of the computer fan.  Everything is dark except for my office and a thin strip of light shaped like the door lying in the hallway.  I firmly believe absence makes the heart grow fonder.  In my case it does.  I can only hope Meka feels the same way.  I think she does; after all, she has come back from her parents every time up to this point!  I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

