A Night at the Movies


I finally got the chance to see the new Indiana Jones movie while I was out of town a couple of weeks ago.  I used to go to the movies all the time, but I haven’t been to the movies for close to a year.  Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull was showing at the local AMC theatre. 

I have fond memories of AMC; I worked at our local AMC theatre a couple of summers when I was in college.  It was the second run show.  We showed movies for a buck a ticket.  This AMC theatre set me back a bit more than that: $9.50.  A Diet Coke and a bag of popcorn – the so-called “movie deal” – cost me another $11. 

The theatre had 14 screens and Indiana Jones was one of the smaller ones.  However, the seats were comfortable and stacked almost on top of each other.  No worries about someone sitting in front of you and blocking your view.  I got my seat and waited for the show to begin.  I used to spend this time while the lights were on reading the “Movie Facts” pamphlets.  However, all that was available was a CD-ROM with movie information on it.  I didn’t bring my computer with me.  In any case, AMC didn’t allow electronic devices in the theaters. 

Ironically, no movies were advertised on the so-called “AMC Movie Watchers Network”.  I saw ads for Coke and HP and various car companies.  In between, they showed previews of several new TV shows on A&E and TNT TV networks.  Some of the new shows looked interesting; it may be another year before I think to go to the show again.

Leave a Reply

