Trying to Follow the Olympics


I’ve been watching the Olympics off and on for the last week or so.  I really haven’t planned to watch anything specifically.  I just tend to wander into the family room and flip on the TV to see what’s going on.  Given the fact five or six channels are showing the Olympics, that pretty much guarantees something is going on.  So I grab a Diet Pepsi and sit and watch awhile.

Some games are old favorites of mine.  While Olympic basketball is a bit different than the kind I normally watch, it’s close enough.  I follow along without too much help from the play by play men in the booth.  I don’t know much about beach volleyball, but I was a fan of regular volleyball in college.  Once I figured out the scoring, everything else fell into place. 

There are others I don’t normally watch, but it doesn’t take a genius to figure out what’s going on.  Running events are like that.  The person who gets to the end of the track first, wins.  Got it.  Swimming is like that too.  The guy with “PHELPS” written on the side of his cap is the winner.  Heck, I didn’t even have to watch the races to know that one.

Some sports I enjoy watching, but I honestly have no idea how the person wins or loses.  I’ve been watching Gymnastics at the Olympics since my family watched Nadia on our wood grained color set in the seventies.  To this day, I still can’t tell you why one scored a 7.2 and another a 7.5.  I know there is a level of difficulty assigned to each routine, but since they are all physically impossible for me, that doesn’t help much.  Diving is the same way; I just have to go with the announcers who claim it’s “marvelous” versus “a disaster”.

I know I have more TV channels than I ever did in the past, but it seems there have been more sports this Olympics than I knew even existed.  Daniel flipped on the TV over the weekend and started watching something that looked like Steeplechase except without the horses.  They were running around, jumping over long bars and into a pool of water.  I guess this has been around for a century, but I do not remember ever seeing it.  Olympic Trampoline?  It looked like fun.  We watched a Chinese guy who was obviously an expert at it. 

This is the last Olympics for baseball and softball; are trampoline and steeple really bigger world sports than they are?

Leave a Reply

