A Blog About Nothing


I was down in Indianapolis and I thought I’d call home.  I said I would the night before.  Meka answered and asked me what I was doing.

“Nothing,” I replied.  The conversation didn’t last too long.

There were a lot of things I didn’t do on Saturday.  I had planned to do a little writing.  I thought I would call my friend out in Colorado.  I planned to watch the U.S. Men’s’ Basketball team play for the gold medal in Beijing overnight.  There’s a swimming pool in the hotel.  I thought I might try it out.  I did none of these things.  But while I admit I didn’t do much Saturday, to say I did nothing would be untrue. 

I caught up on my sleep, for example.  I got about three hours Thursday night before jumping in the car before dawn on Friday and driving down here.  Then, I stayed up the next 24 hours or so talking with my relatives in the kitchen of Aunt Inez’s house.  I watched a few movies.  The room comes with HBO, but I ended up watching both “Predator” movies on commercial cable.  For some reason, TNT showed Predator 2 before they showed the first Predator.  I took a bath.  I probably haven’t taken a bath in several months.  I do wash up, but normally I take a shower.  There is no fan in the bathroom and I didn’t want to steam up the whole room.  I ate dinner and went to White Castle for a midnight snack.  I sat in the parking lot of the furniture store next to it and read a book while I listened to static filled news radio from Chicago.

When I got back to my room, I turned the air conditioner on.  I don’t have a refrigerator in the room and so I wandered down to get ice.  I poured myself a tall glass of Diet Pepsi.  I called down to the lobby to get the latest access code for the Internet so I could upload this blog.  Not all the action on Saturday was external.  I spent a lot of time thinking.  I don’t remember every thought and I’m sure there were some “dead zones” throughout the day.  I remember thinking a lot about my Great Aunt Inez, but I did devote some brain cycles to other relatives.  Some of my thoughts went down on paper; you may read about them in a day or a week, depending on the next time I have a chance to do nothing.

Leave a Reply

