The Down Side of Weight Loss


One of the major goals in Weight Watchers is to lose 10% of your body weight.  I hit that a month or so ago and got a keychain for my trouble.  While my experience has been mostly positive so far, there have been a few down sides to losing weight.

I noticed my pants were getting baggy a few months ago.  One afternoon I walked downstairs and my jeans dropped down to my ankles.  Luckily no one was home and I managed to hop down the stairs without breaking my neck.  I was out of notches on my belt, so I found myself trying to punch out a new hole with a steak knife.  Normally if I do something really stupid like that, it only occurs to me after some grievous injury.  However, this time I caught myself before the knife slipped and I lopped off a finger or accidentally committed hari-kari.

I don’t swim very much.  I had splashed around with Daniel when we were out in California, but actually swim… I probably hadn’t done that in a couple of years.  The motel I was at had a pool, so I thought I would give it a try.  My favorite form is the backstroke.  I find it relaxing to float on my back and slowly wind my way around the pool.  It appeals to my inherent laziness.  I lay back in the water and brought my knees up against the wall to kick off.  Looking up at the ceiling, I pushed away from the wall and was surprised as my vision filled in with water as I sunk below the surface of the pool.

My library books were due, but the library was already closed.  I pulled up to the book deposit bin in the parking lot to drop them off.  As I jammed the last few hardcovers into the drawer, my wedding ring slipped off my finger.  I heard it jingle all the way down to the bottom of the stacks.  After teaching Daniel several new words, I wrote a little note and stuffed that down into the bin as well.  Mercifully, the librarians called me the next morning and said they found it.

I’ve found I can actually turn the drawbacks into advantages.  Swimming actually requires exercise to stay afloat now.  I need more exercise and if I can add a little variety, so be it.  I went to the library to pick up my ring and found a good place to write while I was there.  While I was out, I picked up a new – smaller – belt and even got a new pair of jeans.  I have less than 15 pounds to go before I hit my lifetime goal weight.  I’m sure there are still some surprises in store, but – assuming I don’t get killed, maimed, drowned or divorced – the benefits will outweigh the negatives.

Leave a Reply

