Missing Memories of High School


My high school reunion is coming up at the end of the month.  I had some reservations about the whole thing.  Part of me felt like, “Gee, didn’t I just graduate?”  Another part of me was interested, but not interested enough to pay a lot of money; especially as Meka decided she would need new clothes and shoes and her hair done in order to pose as my “trophy wife”.

In the end, we thought it would be fun.  Meka and I don’t get out very often to do adult things.  I purchased the tickets online and took a look at the list of attendees.  Meka pointed out names and while I did remember maybe a dozen of them, there were over a hundred listed. 

Who are these people? 

The pictures didn’t help, of course.  Some people had posted pictures of their kids.  No one had kids back then (with one exception… and no, I had nothing to do with it!).  I still have some circumstantial evidence I attended high school: several notebooks containing my cartoons and folders full of stories.  My yearbooks are in the basement somewhere (maybe on a shelf in a box… that narrows it down).  I know I ran across some of my class schedules a few years ago and I didn’t throw them away.  Even then, I remember being surprised I hadn’t remembered the order of the classes by period anymore.  Now, I’m wracking my brain trying to remember which classes I attended which years! 

I think the memories are all still there.  My guess is mine is at least as good (if not better) than most.  I didn’t do any systematic destruction of brain cells except from lack of sleep and whatever Diet Pepsi does to you.  The synapses linking together all things high school have just grown atrophied from non-use.  So, as I meditate and ruminate, I plan to remember a lot of amusing anecdotes.  I think I will probably write the best ones down and post them here on my blog. 

Either that or I’ll just make it all up.  Who’s going to remember the difference?

Leave a Reply

