Change of the Seasons


I woke up sometime in the morning.  I only knew this because the clock told me so.  The sky outside was steel gray and rain was pouring down for the fourth day in a row.  I ate then worked all day with the lights on in my office.  Outside, our recyclables sat in their open bin, slowly turning to goo in the unceasing downpour.  Our grass looks good.  It’s greener than it has been in a month.  It’s also taller than it’s been; I haven’t been able to get out there to mow it.

This year has just been odd.  We had a long harsh winter and a summer that didn’t get hot until Labor Day.  From there it felt like we slipped from July to November without anything in between.  Daniel started back to school in mid August.  That threw off my internal calendar as well.  Now the days are noticably shorter.  Daniel’s flag football practice ends at twilight.  That is, when the sun can shine through the clouds and practice isn’t canceled.

Normally, autumn is my favorite time of year.  The hot weather is finally behind us and we get maybe a month of crystal blue skies, short sleeve temps in the afternoon and good sleeping weather at night.  Even when I was a kid, I liked the fall.  We were back in school, of course, but it all still new.  Anything could happen… though nothing generally did.

There’s a chance of sun tomorrow, so I’ve been told.  I hope so.  I’d like to get out and enjoy my autumn while I can; before we have to break out the heavy coats and winter closes us in.

Leave a Reply

