Brother, Can You Invest a Dime?


I was working from home the other day.  It was mid afternoon and the doorbell rang.  It was too early for Daniel.  I thought it might be the mailman or a UPS delivery.  I went downstairs and looked through the peep hole in the front door, but the Indian corn from Halloween was blocking my view.  I opened the door and found myself face-to-face with a guy about my age in a business suit. 

He was pushing his own brand of belief, of course.  I accepted the tract he was offering with a polite smile, but didn’t let him in the door.  I was on company time, after all.  He seemed okay with that.  My feeling was he’d been knocking on a lot of doors that day and I didn’t get the impression too many people had been as receptive as I was.  Sure enough, I got a hand printed card in the mail a few days later, thanking me for my time.

Surprisingly, this gentleman was a financial advisor rather than a member of a church.  However, there were an awful lot of parallels.  Reading through the materials, I could tell he had a permanent and abiding belief in the strength of our national economy.  The tract is a checklist for economic survival in the dark days ahead.  It exhorts me to review my tolerance for risk.  I should be courageous, but smart as well.  I should not fear The Bear, but embrace him as my brother (okay, those are my words, not his, but you get the point).  Above all, I should be patient and have faith; good things happen for those who wait.  It’s literally the “golden rule” for the modern age.

Like his fellow travelers on the residential street circuit, I gave his ideas some thought and considered them with an open mind.  However, I have to say I’m going to pass on his offers of investment advice.  I find it difficult to trust someone with my life savings when they have to ask for it door to door.  He shouldn’t feel bad though; I’ve never trusted my immortal soul with people who peddle religion like Fuller Brushes either.  Call me a traditionalist, but to manage my money, I take it to a bank.  As for my faith, I keep the capital investment deep inside myself but go to church to reap the dividends.

One comment

Leave a Reply

