Taking in the Sights


I was walking to work this morning when I noticed a new sign in the hallway:  DANIEL’S MUSEUM, OPEN 24 HOURS.  I had a few minutes to kill and I am always up for a little culture.  I knocked on the door and asked what it was all about.

“It’s fifty cents,” Daniel replied.  I balked at the price and the curator cut the price of admission down to a penny.  Daniel tossed my coin in a plastic bucket with a hollow thunk and went back to sit on his bed.  At first I thought the museum was just a ruse to not clean his room, but then I noticed a certain order to things.  The first display had a stack of Lego buildings.  I recognized Daniel’s milieu; there was an “industrial” and a “residential” (Daniel is a big fan of SimCity).  Next to it was a building made from the plastic girder set we got him for Christmas a couple of years ago.  He had built the floors wider at the top.  They spread out like fingers from a narrow base.  Each finger held a memento from Cub Scouts: his trophy from the Pinewood Derby along with the prize winning purple car.  There was a new wooden car sitting in the middle that I didn’t recognize.

“Where did you get that one?” I asked.  No answer.

“You only paid a penny, Dad,” he said finally.  “You only get the tour if you pay fifty cents.”  I balked a bit more and got him to answer a question for free.  It was his grab bag Christmas gift from Cub Scouts.  Daniel had put it together earlier.  Getting in my learning experience for the day, I looked at the final exhibit.  There was a pile of stuffed animal pets, most of Daniel’s favorites.  Most of them.

“Where’s Woof?”  I asked, looking for his stuffed gray wolf.  No answer.  I didn’t press my luck; I was out of pennies.  I finished up and headed for the door.  Daniel perked up from the Highlights magazine he was reading.

“What did you think?”

“It was a nice museum, Daniel, but a bit small,” I said.  “It was worth a penny, but probably not fifty cents.”

“I’m only nine years old,” he replied.  “You should come back to see it tomorrow when I’m older.”

Leave a Reply

