Television Trivia Addiction


So, I was staying in Onalaska this week.  It was five below zero and the entire area had been laminated by two inches of solid ice.  I got in late, everything was closed.  I was staying at a place called the “Settle Inn”, for crying out loud.  My room was warm, it had a king sized bed and a 27 inch television sitting about two and a half feet away.  What else was I going to do?  Even without this kind of pressure, I frequently get lured into watching shows on television I never had any intention to watch.  PBS was the worst; I had to take it off our Dish Network account.  I’d find myself walking past, then stopping, then sitting down.  When the credits rolled at the end, all I could do is shake my head in wonder.  Who knew the history of lint could be so interesting?

So, I was flipping around the channels at the hotel, trying to figure out what they really were.  Like most hotels, the channels were programmed with names that – at one time – probably conformed to the proper order.  However, I don’t think CBS has changed from an eye to a peacock and – all jokes aside – C-SPAN rarely shows cartoons.  I ended up on a documentary about World War Two.  The original target for the second atomic bomb had been the city of Kokura, but clouds covered the city when the B-29 carrying the bomb flew over. Nagasaki was their back up target.  It was cloudy over Nagasaki too, but there was a break in the clouds shortly before the plane would have had to leave because it was running out of fuel.  As a follow-up, they mentioned a Professor Fujita was in Kokura that day.  He investigated the damage at Nagasaki and discovered microbursts.  Later he invented the scale of tornado winds; the “F” in F4 stands for Fujita.

I’m a history buff and knew a lot about World War Two, but I had never heard much about the actual details of the Nagasaki bombing.  In that single show, I picked up enough facts to win a bar bet… or fill a blog.  Armed with that knowledge, it took a little bit of the sting out of the realization that I had just spent an entire hour of my life watching The Weather Channel.

2 comments

  1. I found your site on google blog search and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. Just added your RSS feed to my feed reader. Look forward to reading more from you.

    Karen Halls

Leave a Reply

