Notes from the Gilded Cage


I was working from home as I often do.  Meka called me around 10:00 from school.  She only calls me when it’s serious.

“It’s nothing serious,” she explained.  “I took your keys this morning by accident.”

I didn’t have any place I needed to be.  I was just doing calls and connecting remotely to my clients.  I had plenty of bread and lunch meat and at least three types of chips.  We even had half a dozen bottles of Diet Pepsi in the pantry.  But none of that mattered as – suddenly – all the things I couldn’t do came to the forefront.  I wasn’t going to be able to go out to the post office or the library.  I hadn’t planned to go to either of them, but now that I absolutely couldn’t… it was difficult to deal with.

Living in a suburban sprawl, you have to have access to a car.  Even a trek to the corner gas station is a three mile round trip.  I’ve walked it a few times when the weather was nice, but with a wind chill dipping below zero, that wasn’t a possibility.

I was trapped.

“I know you don’t like it when you can’t get out,” said Meka.  “I’ll come home at lunch time and drop them off.”

“No problem,” I replied nonchalantly.  “See you then.”  I hung up the phone and counted the long minutes until I could – potentially – be free once again.

Leave a Reply

