Thank God It’s Friday?


Once again the thirteenth day of the month falls on a Friday.  I can’t say I suffer from paraskavedekatriaphobia.  I can’t say I’m haunted by friggatriskaidekaphobia.  I can’t say them, period.  Daniel has the day off from school.  Police expect less accidents because fewer people will be driving.  The government estimates about $800 million in productivity will vanish from the economy today… though with the shape it’s in, I’m not sure if that is good news or bad.

I wanted to make sure I wasn’t just kidding myself.  Maybe I was blocking some horrific events from Friday the 13th.  I checked my journal for various Friday the 13th‘s and was surprised to see a number of them had been rather lousy.  I was grounded in 1976.  I was in the drive-thru at Wendy’s in 1998.  I rolled down my car window to get my order and couldn’t roll it back up.  I also tried – and failed – to score tickets to see Ben Folds Five.  I got in trouble at work in 1996.  GoldMine gave me problems in 2001 and 2002.  Meka was sick on Friday the 13th.  Daniel was sick as well.  I complained on Friday, February 13, 2004, that I had to wait in a huge line at Hallmark to buy Meka a Valentines Day card.  To be fair, I think that had less to do with Friday the 13th and more to do with my procrastination.

On the other hand, there were some pretty good Friday the 13th‘s.  When I was young, I got to pick out a toy at Zayre.  In 1973, I had lunch with my mom at Hippo’s Hot Dogs.  We all went out to see a Planet of the Apes marathon at the drive-in on Friday the 13th.  I saw the planet Mercury for the first (and only) time in 1987.  I watched the Chicago Bulls win a championship in 1997 and Daniel’s baby shower fell on Friday, August 13, 1999.

So, it’s true that bad things happen on Friday the 13th.  However, bad things can happen anyway, regardless of what day it is.  Good things too.  To me, it’s just another day and any superstition I might have felt about it is long gone.  By my count this will be the 64th Friday the 13th that I’ve managed to survive in my lifetime.  That should bring me close to the record held by Jason Voorhees.

One comment

  1. […] The Bob Files put an intriguing blog post on NoneHere’s a quick excerptOnce again the thirteenth day of the month falls on a Friday.  I can’t say I suffer from paraskavedekatriaphobia.  I can’t say I’m haunted by friggatriskaidekaphobia.  I can’t say them, period.  Daniel has the day off from school.  Police expect less accidents because fewer people will be driving.  The government estimates about $800 million in productivity will vanish from the economy today… though with the shape it’s in, I’m not sure if that is good news or bad.I wanted to make sure I was just […]

Leave a Reply

