Carding the President


Money burns holes in some peoples’ pockets.  For Daniel, it’s more like the acid from Alien.  Daniel got a couple of dollars in a Valentines Day card, so we had to brave the subzero wind chill and drive over to Wal Mart and spend it.  As a parent, I tried to extract as much work from his excitement as I could.  I had Daniel push the cart.  He had to help me get some bottles of pop, bread, bananas.  Finally, about the time he was beginning to incandesce, I let him run over to the toy section.

I finished up the real shopping and checked on the child.  I assumed we’d be going home with yet another Hot Wheels car.  But while Daniel was perusing them, he said he wanted cards instead.  Daniel has a tall stack of Pokemon cards at home.  I haven’t actually played myself, but it reminds me a bit of the old Dungeons and Dragons games.  Each Pokemon monster has certain abilities and skills which can be used when the cards battle one another.

Obama Trading CardsThe cards were at the front of the store.  They had everything from Pokemon to Magic the Gathering to the latest sets of Topps sports cards and even Wacky Packages parodies I remember buying as a kid to stick on my lunch box.  One thing they had in common was pricing: high.  No Wal Mart happy faces in sight.  I let Daniel look and started checking out in the aisle next door.  To my surprise, he actually found a pack he could afford: a pack of President Obama trading cards.  I was intrigued.  Apparently, Topps has come up with a set of 90 cards commemorating the president’s life and achievements.  Each pack came with six cards and a sticker plus a chance to get a “special insert” like an Obama High School Basketball card, a foil sticker or a Presidential Pup card (to be redeemed at a later date).

No word on how many hit points the president has though.

2 comments

  1. […] Carding the President The Bob Files Posted on Thursday, February 19, 2009.   Money burns holes in some peoples’ pockets.  For Daniel, it’s more like the acid from Alien.  Daniel got a couple of dollars in a Valentines Day card, so we had to brave the subzero wind chill and drive over to Wal Mart and spend it.  As a parent, I tried to extract as much work from his excitement as I could.  I had Daniel push the cart.  He had to help me get some bottles of pop, bread, bananas.  Finally, about the time he was beginning to incandesce, I let him run over to the toy section.   I finished up the real shopping and checked on the child.  I assumed we’d be going home with yet another Hot Wheels car.  But while Daniel was perusing them, he said he wanted cards instead.  Daniel has a tall stack of Pokemon cards at home.  I haven’t actually played myself, but it reminds me a bit of the old Dungeons and Dragons games.  Each Pokemon monster has certain abilities and skills which can be used when the cards battle one another.   The cards were at the front of the store.  They had everything from Pokemon to Magic the Gathering to the latest sets of Topps sports cards and even Wacky Packages parodies I remember buying as a kid to stick on my lunch box.  One thing they had in common was pricing: high.  No Wal Mart happy faces in sight.  I let Daniel look and started checking out in the aisle next door.  To my surprise, he actually found a pack he could afford: a pack of President Obama trading cards.  I was intrigued.  Apparently, Topps has come up with a set of 90 cards commemorating the president’s life and achievements.  Each pack came with six cards and a sticker plus a chance to get a “special insert” like an Obama High School Basketball card, a foil sticker or a Presidential Pup card (to be redeemed at a later date).   No word on how many hit points the president has though. […]

  2. This one will be featured in this week’s blog under “Letters, Opinions, and Commentary.” I figure we’ll know if they become a hit with the kids — the price will certainly go up!

Leave a Reply

