Rental Cars


I was sitting in my office over the weekend, perusing the web for a deal on a rental car.  Daniel came in and asked what I was doing.

“Let’s rent a Ford GT!” he suggested.  One of Daniel’s favorite Hot Wheels cars is a Ford GT.  Before I could say anything, Daniel was shaking his head.  “No, they only rent new cars.  The Ford GT is from 2002.”  I didn’t think that was the reason they didn’t show up anywhere on the Hertz website, but I didn’t argue.

“We could get a limousine,” said Daniel.  “I’ve never been in a limousine.”

“Well, Daniel,” I started, “they rent cars by size.”  I explained the larger the car, the more expensive it was.  I was thinking of getting a compact car.  They were the cheapest.  However, California is a large place and I thought it might be nice to get a medium sized car that was more comfortable.  Daniel put his thinking cap on.

“I know!  We can get a Porsche!”  He explained Porsches were pretty little.  “And they’re ugly!  The rental car company won’t care if we drive it fast!”  He might have a point; Hertz probably wouldn’t care though my car insurance company might beg to differ.  I shook my head.

“A lot of Porsches only have two seats,” I said.  “You’d have no place to sit.”  I opened up the page to list the suggested “standard” sized cars.  Daniel looked at the list: basic Fords, basic Pontiacs, basic Toyotas.  He sighed.

“I guess we’ll just get a boring car,” he said.  “But don’t worry, I’ll bring the excitement!”  Well, now I am worried.  He left before I could ask what he meant.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

