The Final Easter Egg


Easter morning came awfully early on Sunday.  It felt like I had just got to bed, blinked and there was Daniel standing in front of me with a huge smile on his face.

“Ready to go?” he asked.

Meka decided to sleep in; she could catch the video replay of the Easter egg hunt sometime after the sun rose.  I stumbled downstairs and watched Daniel as he raced through his candy and stickers left by the Easter Bunny then got to the serious business.

“I have hidden 16 eggs in the kitchen, living room and family room,” read the note signed with a large paw print.  Daniel narrowed his eyes and surveyed the area.  He crouched down in default clue-finding position – as popularized by Scooby and Shaggy – and went to work.  In a few moments, he had found the first five eggs.  I followed him around with the camcorder as he located the egg hidden in a flowerpot, one in a box of Kleenex and another sitting in the remote charger for the Wii.

 

Daniel Hunts for the Easter Egg
Daniel Hunts for the Easter Egg

The next three took some time and I had to offer some subtle suggestions like pointing the camcorder at the area where an egg might be located.  There was one hidden in plain sight, resting on the thermostat.  Daniel walked past it three or four times.  When I showed him a picture I took of him standing underneath it, the egg count rose to a baker’s dozen.

The Easter Bunny resurrected an oldie but a goodie (apparently he reads my blog).  There was a note propped up on the stove that read THERE IS NO EGG UNDER HERE.  Daniel whipped off the note, revealing another note that said I TOLD YOU THERE IS NO EGG UNDER HERE.  Apparently, that threw him off.  There was another note on the kitchen table that Daniel pointedly ignored.  That note turned out to be lying.  Egg number fifteen was located under a throw pillow on the chair in the family room.  I ran out of tape while Daniel searched high and low for egg number sixteen.  We have a “don’t ask, don’t tell” policy in our house at this point when it comes to the true identity of the Easter Bunny.  Daniel didn’t come right out and ask me where the final egg was, but he hinted that I might be aware of its location.  Unfortunately, the eggs had been hidden rather late and – to be totally honest – I had no idea where it was.  I joined in the search, trying to remember all of the secret locations.  Off the top of my head, I could think of thirteen and Daniel had already found more than that.

After half an hour, I officially gave up.  The eggs were plastic and contained candy that was (most likely) plastic as well.  If we didn’t find it for a day or two or more, it wouldn’t be that big of a deal.  Daniel was disappointed of course, but soon found himself lost in the hilarity that is Wacky Packages stickers.  I put a few slices of bread in the toaster.  I checked the egg carton in the refrigerator (no dice) and plucked a few real eggs out.  I cracked them in a bowl, added some salt, pepper and milk.  I popped open the microwave door to cook the eggs –

– and finally found Number Sixteen.

One comment

Leave a Reply

