Senior Moment at the Age of Nine


We had stopped at McDonald’s for dessert.  I was sipping on a Diet Coke.  Daniel was half eating / half wearing a caramel sundae.  We were seated at one of the tall tables in the front of the restaurant.

“I think I’m losing my mind,” said Daniel.  I had to ask.

“Why do you think you’re losing your mind?”

“I found my Floam in the basement,” he said.  “I forgot that I had ever bought it.”

“I don’t think you’re losing your mind,” I replied, taking another sip.  “You only lost a thought.  It happens to the best of us.”  Daniel pondered this and absent-mindedly slurped a spoonful of semi-liquid ice cream in his mouth.

“What if I lose more thoughts?” asked Daniel.  I watched a vanilla drip slowly roll towards his chin.  When I couldn’t stand it anymore, I reached over and blotted it with a napkin.

“You probably have already,” I said.  “But look on the bright side.”

“What bright side?”

“Well, when you found your Floam, it was like getting a new present, right?”  Daniel nodded.  I continued, “So, if you clean your room, I’ll bet you find all sorts of things you’ve forgotten about.”

Daniel smiled, “It will be just like Christmas!”  I smiled back.

“That’s right.  For all of us,” I said.

2 comments

  1. What a great idea! (Wish I’d thought of that.) Daniel’s Dad is not getting older, just getting better! (I think I DID use THAT before.)

Leave a Reply

