Third Grade Origami


Daniel and I were coming out of the back door of Meehan Elementary School and walking past the playground towards the truck.  I had just picked him up from Third Base, his after school program.

“So what did you do in school today?”  I asked.  I ask this almost every day and usually get one of the following answers:

  • “Same thing as yesterday.”
  • “I don’t remember.”
  • “I had recess and then I ate lunch.”

This afternoon I got a surprise.

“I learned some art today,” said Daniel.  He seemed to be in a better mood than normal.  That was a good sign.  We got into the truck and I waited for the click of Daniel’s seat belt before starting it up.

“What did you learn about art?”  I asked.

20080705195626“Origami,” replied Daniel.  When I took Japanese in college (so I could understand what they were really saying in the monster movies), we learned some basic origami.  I learned to fold a piece of paper and make a little bird.  When you pulled on its tail, the wings flapped.  I was impressed they were teaching Daniel the art of Japanese paper folding in third grade.

“Very cool,” I said.  “What kind of origami did you learn to do?”

“I know how to make a circle,” he said with a smile.  I wasn’t familiar with making a circle in origami.  I ripped out a piece of paper from my blogging notebook on the passenger seat and offered it to Daniel.

“Can you show me how to make a circle?”  I asked.

“Sure!” said Daniel.  He took the piece of paper and crumpled it into a ball.  “See?  It’s a circle!”  That was a pretty good gag, especially for Daniel.  We both laughed all the way to Logan Avenue.

One comment

Leave a Reply

